Book-related events this Saturday and Sunday

Firedoglake book salon 5pm Eastern/2pm Pacific Saturday.
C-SPAN broadcast of a Congressional briefing 11am Eastern/2pm Pacific Sunday.

The Firedoglake Book Salon will host a discussion of When Brute Force Fails this Saturday at 5pm Eastern/2pm Pacific. Please sign on and post your comments and questions.

On Sunday at 11 am Eastern/8 am Pacific C-SPAN-2’s BookTV will be showing a Congressional briefing I gave, sponsored by (and with remarks from) Reps. Linda Sanchez and Bobby Scott. (Scott chairs the House Judiciary Subcommittee on Crime.) It seemed to me a decent performance at the time, with some good questions from the audience, but I haven’t seen the video.

Author: Mark Kleiman

Professor of Public Policy at the NYU Marron Institute for Urban Management and editor of the Journal of Drug Policy Analysis. Teaches about the methods of policy analysis about drug abuse control and crime control policy, working out the implications of two principles: that swift and certain sanctions don't have to be severe to be effective, and that well-designed threats usually don't have to be carried out. Books: Drugs and Drug Policy: What Everyone Needs to Know (with Jonathan Caulkins and Angela Hawken) When Brute Force Fails: How to Have Less Crime and Less Punishment (Princeton, 2009; named one of the "books of the year" by The Economist Against Excess: Drug Policy for Results (Basic, 1993) Marijuana: Costs of Abuse, Costs of Control (Greenwood, 1989) UCLA Homepage Curriculum Vitae Contact: Markarkleiman-at-gmail.com